Editing dashboard settings and deleting dashboards

To edit the settings for a dashboard, make sure the dashboard is in edit mode, then click Settings in the upper left of the blue toolbar.

Run on Load

If Run on load is enabled, dashboard data automatically loads when the dashboard is first loaded.

If Run on load is disabled, the dashboard does not display any data until the reload data icon is clicked.

Autorefresh

It might make sense to automatically refresh the data on a regular schedule to ensure that it is up-to-date. You can set autorefresh frequencies for an entire dashboard or for individual tiles. Autorefresh never pulls results from the Centricity cache; it always pulls the data from the database itself.

To set autorefresh for a dashboard and all its tiles:

  1. Enable the Automatically refresh dashboard switch.

  2. Select a refresh frequency to automatically update the dashboard and all its tiles.

  3. If you want to adjust the frequency for any individual tiles, you can do so in the Tile section, where each tile in the dashboard is listed. Click the drop-down for that tile in the Refresh frequency column, select Refresh every, and then set your frequency.

  4. Click Save to save your changes.

To set autorefresh for individual tiles but not for the dashboard:

  1. Disable the Automatically refresh dashboard switch (if previously enabled).

  2. In the Refresh frequency column of the Tile section, click the drop-down for a tile you want to autorefresh.

  3. Select Refresh every.

  4. Set your frequency.

  5. For any tiles you do not want to autorefresh, leave the setting as Does not refresh.

  6. Click Save to save your changes.

The frequency settings accept whole numbers.

The autorefresh intervals begin at the time of day that you turn on this feature, and the dashboard refreshes on the interval you set as long as the dashboard is open in a browser tab and is not in edit mode. If the dashboard is closed or in edit mode during a scheduled refresh time, it won’t refresh. If the dashboard is closed or goes into edit mode, regardless of whether or not it is during a scheduled refresh time, the refresh interval restarts as soon as the dashboard is opened again or leaves edit mode.

For example, if it is 8:33 a.m. when you set a daily refresh, the dashboard will refresh the next day at 8:33 a.m. and then refresh again each following day at 8:33 a.m. However, if one day you enter edit mode at 9:02 a.m. and exit edit mode at 9:45 a.m., from then on, the daily refresh will occur at 9:45 a.m, beginning the following day.

The Clear cache and refresh and reload data options are independent of the autorefresh interval, meaning that manually refreshing the dashboard does not restart the autorefresh interval. For example, if a dashboard’s autorefresh interval is 1 hour, you can use the Clear cache and refresh option 40 minutes after an autorefresh and the dashboard will still autorefresh 20 minutes later (1 hour after it was last autorefreshed).

Similarly, autorefresh works regardless of whether Run on load is enabled or disabled. If Run on load is disabled and you open a dashboard with autorefresh settings, the refresh interval begins upon opening regardless of whether you click the reload data icon to load the data initially.

Autorefresh and Performance

Use autorefresh cautiously to avoid performance impacts.

Frequent dashboard updates, especially on large dashboards, can place a significant strain on some database systems. You may want to discuss this consideration with one of your Centricity admins. At a minimum, avoid setting a refresh interval that is shorter than your database update interval, as if you did so there would be no new data to refresh and this option would trigger unnecessary queries.

Likewise, when multiple users access a dashboard with autorefresh, it may impede performance. If you want to display your dashboard on a shared screen while multiple users simultaneously access it, you can create two identical dashboards and configure only the dashboard on the shared screen to refresh automatically.

Deleting Dashboards

If you have the Manage Access, Edit access level for a dashboard, you can delete it in one of two ways:

  • You can delete one or more dashboards at a time from folders, as described on the Organizing and Managing Access to Content documentation page.

  • You can delete a single dashboard by selecting Move to trash from the dashboard’s three-dot menu.

Once you delete a dashboard, only a Centricity admin can retrieve it from the trash.



 

 

More questions about Centricity? Check out our website or talk to our Support Team.