Regulating access for boards

Now that we’ve gone over basics on boards and pinning content to boards, it’s time to talk about access to boards, because they’re really only useful when users can actually view them.

As an admin, you might need to check access levels, then either grant or restrict access to certain users or groups. Only users with proper access levels will be able to view or edit boards, just like access levels for Looks and dashboards. Similarly, even if a user has access to a board, but the board contains content stored in a folder that user doesn’t have access to, that particular content won’t be displayed on the board.

Board access levels

The two access levels for other content remain the same for boards: View and Manage Access, Edit. With the View access levels, users can see a board, add it to their list, and view any pinned content on the board that they have access to view. With the Manage Access, Edit access level, users can do all that “View” users can, plus manage access to the board, organize content on the board, pin and remove content from the board, and delete the board.

Viewing access levels for boards

Note: Only users with the Manage Access, Edit access level are able to view access levels for a board.

To view which users have access to a board:

  1. When viewing the board, go to the top right corner and click the Share icon.

  2. Centricity will then display the “Manage access” window.

  3. Navigate to the “Who can access this board?” section. You will see a list of users and groups who have access to the board, as well as their access levels.

Regulating access levels for boards

Note: Only users with the Manage Access, Edit access level are able to view access levels for a board.

To change access levels for a board:

  1. Follow steps 1-3 from the Viewing access levels for boards section above.

  2. To change access levels for users who are already listed, select their current access level, then click on the desired access level from the drop-down menu. You cannot alter the access levels of Centricity admins.

  3. Remove a user or group by clicking the 'X' beside the name.

  4. Add users or groups by selecting the “Add group or user” field, navigate to the desired user or group, then select the desired access level.

  5. Click “Save”.